July 16, 2017: Participation Trophy

I was in the kitchen cutting up an evil onion which was making me cry.  Rowan was walking past and literally backpedaled when he saw my tears.

Rowan:  Mama?  How you doin’?

Me: Oh, I’m doing okay, I was just cutting up this onion here–

Rowan:  Mama?  I’m going to give you something.

(Slides his arms around my waist and gives me a hug.)

Rowan:  It’s a trophy for when you get done because I know you’re going to do a good job.

Me:  Awww, thanks, buddy.

Rowan:  (as he runs away to play Minecraft)  I’m proud of you!

Me:  (Real tears.)

Leave a Reply

