May 12, 2017: My brain ate an awkward taco

Lucy watched the puberty video at school. 

DUN DUN DUNNNNNNNN.

(This is the short version of this conversation.  You’re welcome.)

Me: So, how was the video?  Did you learn anything?

Lucy:  I guess.  Except my brain ate an awkward taco.

Me:  Yeah, I get that.  What did they talk about?

Lucy:  Well, the nurse came in to introduce the video and she pretty much told us what puberty was, so it was like we didn’t even need to watch the video after that.

Me:  Did you have any questions?

Lucy:  Well, I had a question, but I figured it wasn’t anything we were going to cover in the video.  Or ever.  So I didn’t ask.

Me:  Do you want to ask me?

Lucy:  Well… we were talking about ovaries?  And how the ovary releases an egg, which can get fertilized? I just wondered… At what age would it be appropriate to have an egg fertilized?

(Oh, Lucy.  You’re too smart for your own good.  And the answer is, “As soon as you don’t feel like sleeping through the night ever again.”)

Leave a Reply

