April 4, 2105:  Raising considerate children in an inconsiderate world. 

Me: Lucy, can you empty the dishwasher please? 

(For the sake of brevity, we’re going to pretend she said:)

Lucy: Sure, Mom! I’d love to!

Me: Thanks Lucy!  I really appreciate the help, and I’m super glad you did it without whining! 

(I actually did say that, because I’m adept at being passive aggressive.)

Lucy: Ok, I put away eight plates. And I closed the cupboard door so nobody would kill themselves. 

Me: Good, thanks. I wouldn’t want to kill myself. 

Lucy: Well, if you did… I’d just leave it open.  

Me: Gosh, thanks. 

  

Leave a Reply

